New Characters Emerging…but When?

Blog of Palessa, Author of Unchained HeartsAs I prepare to release Portrait of Gray in late April, I have to admit that my mind has been wandering in a non-Baxter direction. Actually, that’s not completely true; one is a completely non-Baxter direction and the other is an off-shoot of the branch of the family tree I have referenced but not touched.

It started with me getting up with this strange name in my  head. It felt powerful, exotic, and even a bit dangerous. I also had no idea of his origins but I knew his was a name I wouldn’t soon forget. His name is Sandro. It just rolls off the tongue, doesn’t it?

So while I’m writing about Grayson and putting the pieces together for Book 3  (Yes, I already have the title but I’m not sharing it yet 🙂 ) I had to ask, how exactly does he fit it? Well as it turns out, Sandro’s link is to Quinn, the one I dub, “The Forgotten Baxter” but she won’t be the focus of the story and in some respects, neither will he.

So who will be?

I love cartoons especially Superman, Justice League, Batman, X-Men, Transformers, Bugs Bunny…and some others. But of the ones I named, the common thread is that element of drama. The series back in the 90’s of the X-Men sucked me in and the movies to me were just great. But this one story in one episode of the cartoon got me. It was a brief conversation between Superman and Lex’s henchman Mercy. It hit me and sparked a story that started with that “What if…” thought process.  I was recently on Behind the Words with Lori Hays and she reminded me that my female characters tend to be strong. I am honored because I do think that this kind of strong woman is underrepresented in romantic fiction. Another reason, and this is just a character flaw or what have you,  I honestly don’t knowing associate with any weak women anyway if I can help it. Seriously, I tend to avoid the whimpering, woe-is-me damsel-in-distress types anyway, so there you go.

For Mercy and Sandro I do have a few things written out but right now…to be continued (and yes, I already have the title 🙂 )

Now this next story takes me back in time…waaaaay back. I have always said that I am a huge fan of the Starz series Spartacus: Blood & Sand, Gods of the Arena (haven’t seen this one yet but I will), Vengeance and finally War of the Damned. There is a very tragic and triumphant history to the show and that’s one of the reasons I loved it. Also, it took me by surprise because it’s gritty, salacious with a plot and you can’t help but have a visceral reaction to some of the scenes and the plot twists you just didn’t think they would dare do. I like the idea of pushing the envelope off the table, over the cliff onto jagged rocks. I want to write stories that aren’t exactly going by the book; it keeps me entertained. I’m still learning but it’s a goal.

There is this love story in War of the Damned that, in my head, took on a life of it’s own; the love of Kore and Crassus. It inspired me and I came up with something. Now, when I wrote this out, it was a few lines talking about the plot, etc…Then when I put it in word, those few lines were 2 pages where I practically laid out each section. I was shocked but happy.

Now will this be a new series or a standalone? I would love for it to be a series but I have to write it out first to see if it will pan out. Suffice it to say, I plan on penning it before the end of the year as well as Book 3 so which will come first, is anyone’s guess.

Right now, I have Grayson on the brain and I’m looking forward to sharing his story with everyone. So stay tuned as I will be sharing my release plans on my Facebook page and my mailing list will get  sneak peeks of some rough drafts of the book.

 

About A~P

Palessa started reading her first romance novel, at the age of 11. Then she got introduced to V.C. Andrews, Barbara Taylor Bradford, Anne Rice and many more notable contemporary authors as well as some of the classics, A Tale of Two Cities, Their Eyes Were Watching God, The Great Gatsby and others. It was during her teenage years that she dabbled in writing. First, it was in her diaries, then she started creating characters, stories about romance, the supernatural and much more. Being an International Baccalaureate student as well as entering college, left little time for writing and so she put it and the ideas aside to pursue a career. It would take almost 20 years, a radical move from the city she grew up in, Miami, FL back to her Caribbean birthplace, and a chance Facebook meeting with Sable Hunter to start the juices flowing again. After some fits and starts, the Baxter Family Saga was born. Unchained Hearts is Palessa's first published fiction book with Beau Coup Publishing. She considers herself just a storyteller that sees no reason to shy away from the juicier romantic elements. She currently lives in the mountains of Jamaica with her crazy, cracker-munching-mutt Ivy and a farm, primarily managed by agribusiness partner, also known as Dad.

Leave a Reply

